MiZiBlog

Created this blog on 23 April 2005, MiZiBlog is just about what's on my life and what's going on around me. Read it if you are interested...

Sunday, March 27, 2005

The Sunny MiZ 5: Easter Sunday

Had my breakfast with my family at Café Cartel at J8.

After coming back home, I continued playing "The Sims 2".

Later in the afternoon, I went to City Hall interchange to meet SJ to give him my JC lecture notes (Physics and Chemistry). Before that, I went to library@esplanade to return 3 music books borrowed about 2 weeks ago.

After meeting SJ at the MRT station and lent him my lecture notes, we went to Gramophone to look at some of the CDs, VCDs and DVDs. After that, SJ brought me to some of the guitar stores to look at guitars. After that, we went to KFC/Pizza Hut/Taco Bell at Funan to eat as I had not have my lunch yet (well, it's normal for me to have very late lunch).

After having my lunch, as SJ was going to Challenger to look for some things, I decided to went back first as I need to pack my bag. Well, after packing my bag at home, I continued reading "The Sims 2 University" strategy guidebook.

Ok, there's nothing much happening today. Easter Sunday is just another Sunday to me.

Saturday, March 26, 2005

MiZiSat 5: Holy Saturday

Played "The Sims 2" for almost the whole (realising later that I forgot to watch Pokémon).

After that, I went out to Plaza Singapura to catch a movie "Miss Congeniality 2" myself. At first I thought of catching the 3.50pm show, but they said that they only left the first 2 rows for that timeslot. Well, I could have watched on that timeslot as I may get other seats instead, since I'm watching alone, but I decided to catch the 5.30pm show instead.

Since there was a lot of time in between, I decided to walk around Plaza Singapura and some other places as well. While at Comics Connection at Plaza Singapura, I chanced upon "The Sims 2 University" strategy guide, which was priced slightly a bit more than $30. Well, this strategy guide is somewhat very difficult to find around here, and since there was only one on the shelf in that store, I decided to grabbed that copy and bought it immediately.

After that, I went to Bugis Junction and walk around there. Hmm... there are always a lot of people in Bugis Junction, so my trip there was somewhat short.

After that, I went back to Plaza Singapura and went to Yamaha Music School. At that time, there was some young children performing music there, so I decided to take some of my time listening to what they were playing.

Before the movie started, I bought a popcorn combo as my dinner. Well, if you want to know, it was the "Miss Congeniality 2" popcorn combo. Ok, if you don't know, I would always buy popcorn whenever I'm watching the movie. It's salted popcorn if you don't know, or occasionally mixed sweet and salted popcorn. I don't buy purely sweet popcorn because I don't really like it.

Only reached home after 8pm after I came back from the movie.



MiZ Speaks
Ok, looks like I exhausted with the choice of movies I wanted to watch already. So, if you have any good movie to recommend, feel free to tell me ok?

Friday, March 25, 2005

Holi-MiZ 2: Good Friday

Had my breakfast with my family at the food centre at Tekka Mall.
Spent my whole afternoon playing "The Sims 2".

In the evening, I had my dinner with my family at Jack's Place at Ang Mo Kio. Had seafood baked rice for dinner (plus some side orders).

After we had our dinner, my father drove us around the city area. At the same time, my sister chatted with me. Talk quite a lot of things, especially the one about the survey by a well-known financial and insurance company (I'll call it "PDT survey") and roadshow thing and how we felt about those people doing the survey. I thought that the topic is somewhat interesting, so I decided to share with you people on "MiZ Speaks".



MiZ Speaks
Ok, talking about the PDT roadshow thing, sometimes while you are outside, there may be one person that may approached you and do survey. After that, they will bring you to a place where they had the roadshow and introduce you about that. Ok, they will first ask you how much do you save a month, where does your money go to, and then they will ask you, or maybe tell you about the bank interest (it is usually 0.125% if you don't know). Ok, that is when they will start telling you the story about PDT, how your money will grow there and so on and so forth. Ok, if you don't know, the questions they asked and the story they will tell you are always very similar, or are about the same (even for different people that you may approached), so if you got approached by these people a few times, you could roughly predict what they are going to tell you next.

A waste of time? Yes, especially if you are really not interested at all. You will try to think of some ways to shake them off, or if you are unfortunately brought to the roadshow, try to think of ways to leave the place. Sometimes, saying NO to the survey may helps, but if they are those people that really want to convince you to sign up, you may have to come up of ways to leave you alone.

Ok, if you are one of those unfortunate ones, maybe you can try telling them that your siblings, close relatives or any of your good friend is working in PDT. After that, they will bid you good-bye.

Of course, if you are the one that knows how to talk and argue, and also those that knows a lot about banks, insurance and financial planning, you can argue back to them with all the facts and figures you know. Well, if you don't really know some facts and figures, you can come out with your own. Afterall, they don't really check those out, and they always cook up with their own stories as well to make you sign up. Ok, the key to this is that you must argue to them until they have nothing much to say. That is when they will also bid you farewell.

My sister and I also try to come up with more excuses to escape from these people as well, but I don't know if it works well on them.

Ok, I'm not against PDT Company actually, but it is those people that make us even more irritated, so we come up with this topic.

Thursday, March 24, 2005

Holi-MiZ 1: Maundy Thursday

Nothing much happening in the morning.

Later in the afternoon, I went to Yoshinoya at Junction 8 and had my lunch there.

After that, I went out the Cathay Orchard to catch a movie "Hitch" at 3.15pm. After buying the tickets, I met PSQ and WH there. They were also watching a movie there as well, with JR and Andrew, based on what PSQ and WH had said. Well, they were watching another movie "The Woodsman" at 2.30pm, so too bad I could not join them, as it clashed with the movie that I was going to watch. Perhaps next time, if there is a chance...

Well, there's another movie I'm going watch some time this weekend, which is "Miss Congeniality 2". Not really sure if you'll would like to catch them...

Ok, after watching the movie, I walk around the city area to look out for a strategy guide for "The Sims 2 University". So far, I could not find any of them in stores. Maybe they were not out in Singapore yet... I will try to look out for them another day.

After coming back home, I started to play "The Sims 2" (by the way, I'm using a Pentium 4 computer to play "The Sims 2" and also switch on a Pentium 3 notebook for internet and MSN). Played until quite late that I decided to wrtie this journal on Friday morning (yes, I'm writing this journal at this time).



MiZ Speaks
Ok, about the game, my sim, which major in Psychology and also which managed to join the Secret Society (no, there is nothing much bad about the society like what you have know), had put onto Acadamic Probation for two times for getting an F (one is at the first semester for the Final year, the other at the second semester for the same year). Eventually, he just got a normal degree (at least he's better than his buddy which got kicked out of the college/university for failing it 2 times consecutively).

Wednesday, March 23, 2005

MiZ in Weekdays 5: A Short Time in Camp

MiZ Speaks
Well, someone said that I will be needing the computers to write a lot of things... if it is this entry, yes, there will be quite a lot of things to write.

Ok, this entry is somewhat special, only contains entries for 3 days as compared to the usual 5 (since I'm only in camp for 3 days as I had leave on Thursday and there's public holiday on Friday), so I'll come out the other two in other entries.



21 Mar 2005
SOC test... Before the test, my heart seemed very weak, maybe because I was very nervous about the test. 9mins30secs can be a quite difficult timing to achieved for many of us. You know on Friday (18 Mar), when HJ told me that those that pass SOC trial on 11 Mar will take the test on Monday (21 Mar), I almost fainted onto the floor. Luckily I'm still quite strong enough not to faint that time... But after that I kept lying on the floor throughout the day and not doing anything, just thinking about the SOC test (well, I still went to the gym later on).

Ok, coming back about the SOC test, thinking of how JR ran his SOC trial that time, I was still amazed how he could just missed by 10secs when he took more than 4mins for the first 700m rundown and walking throughout the obstacles part. Well, I decided to do some of what JR did that time... which was to do my 700m rundown a bit slower. Well, quite amazingly, I still don't feel tried after running that 700m for more than 3mins, and this let me clear all my obstacles much faster than usual. After that, I run through the last 600m and eventually completed the whole course by 8mins40secs, according to JR's time. Hmm... an improvement of about 40secs as compared to the trial, which I took 9mins21secs to do so. Well, for the trial, I ran quite fast for the 700m, eventually being quite exhausted while doing the obstacles, which slows down my timing by quite a lot. So, the slower 700m rundown did makes a lot of difference and improvement for my overall timing.

Another thing, my window for SOC test only just opened a few days before my SOC test. Well, I passed my first year SOC on 17 Dec 2004, so my window opened on 17 Mar 2005, just only 4 days before my SOC test. Wow... that's too soon for me to take my test, as compared to others when their windows opened in mid-January (they had 2 months while I only had 4 days...).



22 Mar 2005
Ok, it was my turn to perform my ops room duty that day. I brought quite a lot of things to the ops room, but I only eventually used my CD walkman to listen to music and also bought 8 Days and The New Paper to be read in ops room. Hmm... didn't know that cello sounds nice, but too bad I wasn't keened on learning the cello.

Ok, heard that the DOO was doing his duty for quite many days, which included the Monday and Tuesday duties consecutively. Hmm... he must be feeling very tired after that so many DOO duties he had to do within a week (heard that it is about 4).

The DOO also gave me two reports to be faxed about 23 hours ealier. It was supposed to be sent on 23 Mar 2005 7am, but he decided to gave it to me much more in advanced (if you want to know what time, it was on 22 Mar 2005 at about 8+ in the morning). Well, he said that he would be conducting SOC training on Wednesday morning, so he gave the report much more advanced (which also includes the DOO report that was to be faxed by the duty clerk).

Ok, I felt quite stupid while standing in for duty clerk's duty as I made quite a lot of minor mistakes then. Felt quite bad almost throughout my ops room duty... just really don't know what I should do... :(

Ok, let me talk about other things instead. I had my lunch quite late as I let the duty clerk had his lunch first. He took quite long to consume his lunch, which was quite expecting since he had said so earlier on. While it was my turn to have my lunch, the cookhouse personnel said that they ran out of some food and were still preparing them. I could not just wait too long and almost just only had my white rice for my lunch (I eventually decided to take the "char-siew" pork as well since the rice doesn't gave much to what my body needs).

The nightsnack wasn't that bad as well. We were given hot "tou-sa" puff and that usual cookie by SFI for nightsnack. I wondered why they had decided to give us hot nightsnack quite recently...



23 Mar 2005
After handing over my duty to another signaller, there was nothing much for me to do. Well, it was just another slack day.

In the afternoon, I fell asleep after listening to music and reading newspaper and magazine. At that time, BSO happened to come in. Thought that he was going to scold us, but didn't he briefed us on what we were going to do next week.

He also ask me to take out my "violin" (which was a viola actually) and play it to him. I wondered how he knows that I had a "violin". Too bad I wasn't that proficient, so I could only play simple pieces. SJ, PSQ and Alex was also the "victims" as well.

After I book out from camp, I went to Jurong Point to eat. Thought of eating at Swensen's at first, but decided to had my meal at Delifrance by myself instead.

Sunday, March 20, 2005

The Sunny MiZ 4

Again woke up in the morning to had my breakfast with my family at Maxwell Food Centre. Just only ate 3 Green Bean Biscuits from the stall that sells Soya Bean milk.

Early in the afternoon, I went out with my father to make a new pair of spectacles for myself. The design I chose was somewhat very similar to those design that I'm wearing it now (the one with oval-shaped frame). The colour was also similar as well (which is blue). Will be using the same degrees as well as for my current spectacles (L=800, R=550)

After that, I asked my father to drive me to Tanjong Katong Complex. Over there, I went to Synwin Enterprise to buy a set of Viola Strings (just in case any of the strings snaps). Bought the set that cost about $50. Wanted to buy the Dominant strings, but the set is quite expensive, costing about $80 per set. The China-made strings are the cheapest (the one given to me when I bought the viola), costing about $6 per set, but I afriad they might not last long, so I bought the one that is slightly better than the China-made strings (the $50 one).

After that, I went to Plaza Singapura to had my lunch there. When I reached there, there are a lot of people eating in the fast-food restaurants (even though it was already after 2pm), so I decided to walk around Plaza Singapura to have window-shopping. When I past by Yamaha Store, I came across a Yamaha Mixer which was used by our PA system (MX12/6). It cost $599 for one of that Mixer. Tried to find the Yamaha Amplifier used by our PA system (P3200), but could not find those in store. Later about 3pm, I went to Burger King to had my lunch there.



MiZ Speaks
Hmm... you know when you look at your CDs or the back cover, there is one rating or a three-letter code used (either DDD, ADD or AAD). Well, for those who are curious what does that mean, I'm going to explain this. D means Digital and A means Analogue. The first letter denotes the type of recorder (D or A) used during session recording, the second denotes the type used for mixing and/or editing, and the third denotes the type used for mastering (transcription). Therefore,

DDD = digital tape recorder used during session recording, mixing and/or editing, and mastering (transcription)

ADD = analogue tape recorder used during session recording; digital tape recorder used during subsequent mixing and/or editing and during mastering (transcription)

AAD = analogue tape recorder used during session recording and subsequent mixing and/or editing; digital tape recorder used during mastering (transcription)

Generally, your favourite pop music are DDD, since they are recorded quite recently (they can't be recorded in 1960s or 1970s right?), where they used digital recorder for all of them. No AAA since this is a CD, which uses digital playback.

Saturday, March 19, 2005

MiZiSat 4: Mini Movie Marathon and Reviewing Music Theory

Woke up early in the morning as usual.

Later early in the afternoon, I went to Cathay Orchard to buy movie tickets for 2 movies, Spongebob Squarepants Movie at 2.10pm and Son of the Mask at 5.20pm. Watch those 2 movies myself again :P.

After buying the tickets, I had my lunch at Subway. That was my first time eating that. Later, I went to HMV at Heeren and bought a set of Classical CDs. It was Joseph Haydn (1732 - 1809) Violin/Cello Concertos, in which one of the track was the one PSQ likes to play in bunk (Violin Concerto in G, H. VIIa No.4 1st movement).

Ok, about Spongebob movie, the movie was quite lame but humourous. Kept laughing throughout the movie.

In between the 2 movies, I went to Yamaha Music Store at Plaza Singapura to browse through all the grades for ABRSM theory papers, especially for Grade 6, 7 and 8.

Ok, later rush back to Cathay Orchard to catch the 2nd movie. The movie was somewhat interesting and quite humourous in some sense. Had my popcorn combo as my dinner instead.

After watching the 2nd movie, I went to Kinokuniya Bookstore at Ngee Ann City to buy Career Guide 2005. Wanted to have a copy for myself so that I can slowly look through jobs that suited me both for my interests and qualifications.

After that, I went back to Bishan and bought some octopus balls from Takopachi. Haven't been eating that for a long time...



MiZ Speaks
Ok, while I was at Yamaha Music schools browsing the ABRSM past years Theory of Music Exam Papers, I realised that Grade 7 and 8 Theory are much more demanding and difficult than Grade 6 theory (in which I thought it was demanding and difficult enough). Also realised that Grade 5 theory is much easier than Grade 6 theory, no wonder why the percentage of people who got distinction for G5 theory was so much higher than that for G6, statistics for UK candidates shown below.
2001
Grade 5 - Pass: 90.5%, Dist: 24.4%
Grade 6 - Pass: 79.4%, Dist: 5.1%
2002
Grade 5 - Pass: 87.7%, Dist: 24.1%
Grade 6 - Pass: 79.8%, Dist: 5.5%
2003
Grade 5 - Pass: 89.2%, Dist: 19.8%
Grade 6 - Pass: 78.2%, Dist: 5.6%
Based on the statistics shown on the ABRSM site, there are also a lot more less people taken G6, 7 and 8 as compared to those of lower grades. Well, I supposed G6, 7 and 8 demands a lot more, and people usually do not really needs G6 to 8 theory for perfomance (unless they are going to teach).

Friday, March 18, 2005

MiZ in Weekdays 4

14 Mar 2005
Company run as usual, with that usual 3km route. Laterin the afternoon, we were asked to help to mount radio sets for SOA, but it seemed that they had mounted it already when we reached there. They said that we just need to put the accumulators, but eventually we just replaced the masking tape from the vehicle tags with clear tape. After that I went to the gym for training. This would be my usual routine from then on.



15 Mar 2005
Nothing much happening in the morning. In the afternoon, we had our codewords, appointment codewords and PRC 840/940 manpack equipments knowledge tests. Well, we tried to so-called helped one another for the test, and also "making references" with other people's answers as well.



16 Mar 2005
Company run in the morning, but I decided to draw arms and join the SOC training instead. There were 2 groups for the training, one group for obstacle training, and the other for running endurance training. I then decided to join the running endurance training, which was conducted by BSO. For the training, we were asked to run the 700m rundown 4 times (with very short breaks in between them), each time completing them for about 3mins to 3mins30secs. After that, we had a slow jog from the training shed to the parade square.

Later in the morning, we had to do some equipment testing. For line stores, there were quite few equipments to check (what much can you do for line?).
In the afternoon, we had our appointment codewords and PRC 840/940 manpack equipment knowledge tests again, with Cheetah's signallers and some other people involved as well, conducted by BSO.

There was nights off given by the BSO in the evening. Initially, I wasn't really keened in going nights off as I wanted to practise my viola and sleep early, but since JR convinced me to go (it could also be my very last nights off as well), I decicded to go out. I went out with HJ and SJ and bought some packet foods and drinks back to camp.



17 Mar 2005
Nothing much in the morning. In the afternoon, the line team was asked to conduct line lessons for some of the Cheetah's people. The lesson was eventually conducted by our line detachment in-charge, CC. Later we were briefed on what we had to do for ATEC.



18 Mar 2005
Nothing much happening. It was just a slacking day for us.
Well, after we booked out and had dinner, I played Daytona with SJ. We tried both the Advanced and the Expert levels as well, but always end up playing just only for 1min to 1min30secs because we could not complete the course on time and could not get that time extention.



MiZ Speaks
It seems that there are quite a lot of movies coming up this school holidays. I think I'm going to catch them tomorrow (may be going to have my movie marathon).

Sunday, March 13, 2005

The Sunny MiZ 3

Morning as usual, had my breakfast with my family.
After that, I had a quick haircut (hmm... the current hairstyle after haircut looks a bit odd though...).

In the early afternoon, I caught a movie "Robots" at Junction 8 myself. Ok, the movie was somewhat interesting.

After the movie, I went to library@esplanade to return the music books that I had borrowed a few weeks ago, and borrowed another 3 music books (one of them on JS Bach's keyboard music, the second one on Beethoven's misc pieces and the third one on Schumann's keyboard works).

Anyway, there wasn't anything special happening, that's what I can say...



MiZ Speaks
Ok, now about The Sims 2, all my 4 Sims had graduated from college (university) with honours. Now, they have became a full-grown adult, looking for jobs outside.

I also created 2 more Sims to see what happened if they do badly for their semester, or just gotton some mediocre results. Also try to find out how to join the secret society there as well.

Saturday, March 12, 2005

MiZiSat 3: Theory of Music Exam

After I woke up in the morning at 8am, the first thing I did was to check up on The Sims 2 BBS site to find out more infomation about the game. Didn't really play much then.

After that, to prepare for my Music Theory exams, I quickly browse through some of my workbooks, past exam papers and guidebooks (well, it only helped a little bit for the exams). Had a very quick lunch before going out for exams.

Before going to Overseas Union House for the exams, I went to Golden Village at Plaza Singapura to buy a movie ticket "The Heffalump Movie" for myself. Decided to catch the movie right after my exams at 5.35pm.

I reached Overseas Union House at about 1.45pm and waited there for about 5 minutes before they let us enter the examination room. While waiting, most of the people are looking through their guidebooks and textbooks as their revision before taking the exam. Well, I didn't really bother to do so. :P

Ok, about the music exams, I don't know whether I can make it or not. I think my first question cannot make it already, the question which is about indicating the chords accompanying the melody (just anyhow come out with some chords for the melody...). Don't really know the answers for some for the questions in Q4 and Q5 (general questions on score reading). Hmm... other than oboe and bassoon, do you know any 2 more instruments that also have double reeds as well?
Just for your information, Pass=66%, Merit=80%, Distinction=90%.

After my music exams, I rushed to Plaza Singapure to catch the movie myself (with the ticket I bought earlier on). The movie was somewhat interesting. Hmm... maybe I'm going to watch Robots tomorrow.

After the movie, I bought some music scores for my viola (for lower grades).

Friday, March 11, 2005

MiZ in Weekdays 3

07 Mar 2005
In the morning, one of my bunkmates, HH had stomuch pain and fainted (well, almost...). He was brought to the medical centre. Heard that he fainted again while drawing blood.Other than the usual company run, there's nothing much then.

Later in the evening, the ABRSM representative called me. Well, it seems that they could not find the instrument for me, so I had to write an e-mail of withdrawal so that I could get the refund.



08 Mar 2005
We had our codeword test. It was conducted by our line specs, so it wasn't as taxing (but we still need to study afterall...). Ok, ps was away for basic theory test. A miracle if he could pass...

Ok, JH had broken the record for the most customers for I-net, with a total of 114 customers (29 in afternoon, 85 in evening), including the 2 people who decided to dropped out from the queue.



09 Mar 2005
Company run in the morning as usual. In the afternoon, we had our basic first aid lesson by the senior medic and a medic. The senior medic kept making fun of WH while conducting the lessons to demonstrate for the first aid thing. Got hold of one of the expired first aid dressing and use it as a skipping rope while back in bunk. :P



10 Mar 2005
A terribly shack day for us. In the morning, we are attached to Cheetah company for the 8km route march. I wonder whose good idea was it to have the route march (after that we are going to have more route marches and night walks... >_< ) The first half of the route march was fine, but after we left the training shed that was out in the field halfway of our route march, my shoulders started to ache, and my legs getting a bit numb. Well, at least all of us managed to persevere and complete the route march with our FBO, with and exception of one person... Well, it was that pathetic "train" (if you are in my platoon, you should know what that means actually) that decided to give up halfway and put his field pack into the safety rover. Well, my platoonmate CC mentioned that he had his face and lips turned white during the break in a training shed (haha...). Not only that, he still had that cheeks to ask us to "carry on and not to give up"... What a very bad example we had here! He was there to throw our face...

After the route march, I had a quick shower and went to have a rest in bunk for almost the whole afternoon.



11 Mar 2005
We had our SOC trial. How fantastic was that when we just had our 8km route marches the day before and we had not been traning for months... Ok, my running had greatly dropped in standard as compared to my last test. Looks like I have to train even more. After SOC, we had nothing much to do then.

In the afternoon, I decided to join most of my platoon for the gym training (since the bunk was going to be almost empty during gym training). Ok, the CSM was there telling us what we should do while doing the machine. He seemed to be happy and "garang" in the gym today.

After booking out from camp, I immediately went back home and continue my game of "The Sims 2".



MiZ Speaks
Well about The Sims 2, now the 4 of them are at their junior year (3rd year) of the college (can also be known as university). Ok, about the majors, there are only 11 of them you can choose from for your Sims (Pschology, Drama, Art, Philosophy, Biology, Economics, Literature, Mathematics, History, Physics and Political Science). There is only 1 module per semester, and each semester lasts for 72 sims hour (after which they will take the exams). Pass and the sims will proceed on to the next semester, fail and they will be on academic probation and repeat that semester. Before going on to the university, they can earn scholarships (that is if they do well in school). There's also specific scholarships for specific skills as well (if they had that particular skill maxed/almost maxed) and other miscellaneous scholarships.

Sunday, March 06, 2005

The Sunny MiZ 2: Buying a New Viola

In the morning, after sending my mother to work, our family went to a temple to pray, after that in which we had our breakfast.

Still continue with The Sims 2 after breakfast for the rest of the morning.

After that, I went out to buy some important stuff. Later on, I went to Synwin Enterprises at Tanjong Katong complex (located near Paya Lebar station) to look out for a viola. Well, it comes with different sizes 14" and 16" (they only have those sizes for a student viola). Well, I decided to buy the 16" viola (since 14" viola is of no different from a full size 4/4 violin, which is also 14", just with different strings only). It cost about $180, excluding the shoulder rest.

After trying it out at home, I started to like the sound of the viola (more than that of the violin). Ok, I would still continue with my violin lessons, and perhaps I may go and apply my violin techniques to my viola.

Hmm... I may be bringing my viola to camp and leave it there, and bring my violin back home for lessons (not really sure if the viola fits my cupboard).



MiZ Speaks
Ok, about my Sims, all the 4 of them are in their sophomore (2nd) year. They have very good results and high GPA after forcing them to write term paper, do a lot of assignments, do lots of researches, study a lot, attend classes and do other people's assignments even when they are in bad mood.

Saturday, March 05, 2005

MiZiSat 2: The Sims 2 University

Woke up quite early and had my breakfast as usual. After that, I had my keyboard practice/exercises for almost the whole morning.

While MSN online, my friend, Kavan, asked me out for a game of badminton with another friend, but I wasn't really interested in sport games currently. After that, he asked me out for a movie, but it was eventually cancelled as he wasn't free in the afternoon. Perhaps next time then...

While surfing internet, I decided to visit the Sims website since I had not been surfing there for quite a long time. Well, to my amazement, they came out with a new expansion pack for The Sims 2 not that long ago. It was called "The Sims 2 University" (it was released on Monday, 28 Feb 2005 by the way). From the title, you could roughly guess that it was about the life of the young sims in university. Being interested in that expansion pack, I decided to make a trip to Funan the IT Mall in the afternoon to buy it. It costs $42.90. While in Funan, I also looked out for any games that seems interesting to me as well (if the game really interests me a lot, I would get it next time I had my pay).

After installing the expansion pack, I spent the whole of late afternoon and evening playing The Sims 2, trying to make my sims to have very good results. Just for your information only, one of my sims is majoring in Mathematics, another in Biology, the third one in Physics, and the last one in Literature.

Friday, March 04, 2005

MiZ in Weekdays 2: A Usual Week in Camp

28 Feb 2005
Ok, nothing much happening on Monday, just that there was that usual company run and I was performing my I-net duty that day as well.



01 Mar 2005
We had our respective radio/line lessons on that day. While having lessons, someone called me. I just ignore the call since I was having lessons. During the break, I realised that it was the ABRSM representatives that called me about the music practical exams. I called back and they told me that they could not find any centres that have harpsichord (haha... should have known that...), and asked me if I had entered the wrong exams. Entering for the wrong exams could not be the case since I had my Grade 8 piano and I wasn't proficient in any other instruments. Well, they said that if they could not help me find the centre(s) by next week, they would withdraw me from the exams and give the full refund of $167. It doesn't matter much, as long as I don't lose my money. :P



02 Mar 2005
I should have my line lessons in the afternoon, but was cancelled as the commanders selected the line team (plus 3 other people) to be the acting casualties for the external unit exercise. Well, there was briefing in the afternoon, so no lessons for us.

Also swaped my I-net duty with Sheng Jie so that he could go for nights off (I wasn't going anyway). While on duty, I browse through the I-net sign in/out book. Noticed that the record highest number of users in 1 day since we all took over the duty is 95 (36 in afternoon, 59 in evening), on 15 Feb 2005 Tuesday.

The Yamaha Music School called me that day to tell me theat my violin lesson has been postponed to 03/04/2005 as there were too few students (anyone want to sign up?).

At night, I had to become the acting casualties. Well, I was selected to be the light casualties. I was there to be showered (decontamination shower) guided by the people there and got myself drenched.



03 Mar 2005
Slept for almost the whole morning after being the acting casualties at night for the exercise (I still had my breakfast). Nothing much happening that day. We should have our line lessons in afternoon, but was cancelled later due to some unknown reasons.



04 Mar 2005
Nothing much happening that day as well, just that some of my friends had their IPPT trial/test.

Bought the Gold IPPT pin as well as a souvenir, which cost $8. I bought it because the pin looks very nice to me (I collect pins by the way). Heard that it is meant for No.2 uniform. I wanted to buy the silver one as well, but was running out of cash. Perhaps I will get them next week when I have the money (it's a credit item actually, but I needed the credit to buy a pair of new boots and some other important stuff later). Also share the cost with Hong Joo to buy the Gold IPPT badge for No.4 uniform as a souvenir.

After coming back home, my cousin was there learning his performance pieces (a Grade 3 piece). Well, my sister ask me to sight-read the pieces for him, which I struggled a bit (it wasn't really the type of music that I played). Well, I only got 15/21 for my Grade 8 sight-reading by the way (a pass by 1 mark), so my playing sounded odd for the first few attempts.

Later, my sister ask him if he learned the violin, and he said that he learned the viola actually. He also told me that the one at his home was a viola. OOPS... no wonder why the string snapped while I tried to tune it some time ago (after that I dare not tune the rest of them). I thought the strings were so old that it was waaaaayyyyy out of tuned...:P Never mind, those strings really need to be changed anyway.



MiZ Speaks
Ok, I thought of getting another violin for my lessons so that I can leave my violin in camp. But now, I think I may be getting a viola instead and leave it in camp (in exchange with my violin). What do you think of it? (Someone also already has a violin in camp by the way.)