MiZiBlog

Created this blog on 23 April 2005, MiZiBlog is just about what's on my life and what's going on around me. Read it if you are interested...

Sunday, August 14, 2005

The Sunny MiZ 25: Sign up for another course

14 Aug 2005
In the morning, we went out to had our breakfast. My father and my grandparents went to the hawker centre to had their breakfast, while my sister and I went to McDonald's to had them. Yup, I know it's again for me... in fact it's again for both of us since we had our breakfast at McDonald's a week ago... Think it was a McDonald's week...

After that, I went to have my haircut at EC House at Junction 8 as my hair was getting a bit too long and messy. Ok, now I had to say that my hair really got very short...

As my father had to go to work today, I had to go for my violin lesson myself today. While I was walking towards Yamaha Music School, I decided to take a look at Contempo Music School to see if they had any flute courses coming up. Well, they happened to had a flute course from 2 to 3pm on Sunday. Hmm... that was just right after my violin lesson (which is 1 to 2pm on Sunday as well). So, I decided to go and sign up right after my violin lesson had ended.

Well, since I was already a student in Yamaha Music School, I did not have to pay for the $21 registration fee and $100 for the deposit. Well, the person said that the lesson will be held at Studio 107, which happened to be the Studio I had my violin lesson. How interesting could that be... Had to buy a Flute book for the course itself, which cost about $29.

After that, I had my lunch at KFC before going back to Junction 8 to buy a D-string for my violin as mine had snapped sometime ago. After that, I went back home to sleep again, and also prepare my things before booking in... Think I'm going to become a sleeping pig someday... :P



MiZ Speaks
Just asking, anyone want to take up flute with me? Well, for those new student, other then that months fee of $68.25, you had to pay a registration of $21 and a deposit of $100. It's every Sunday from 2 to 3pm, so considering signing up with me? Currently there were 7 slots left after I sign up, just for the information.

MiZiSat 25: Going out again...

13 Aug 2005
Woke up quite late in the morning. Just could not believe myself that I could sleep for 12 hours straight. Think I must be way too exhausted after the chalet. Skipped breakfast again since I didn't really have appetite.

Later at noon, I went out to library@esplanade to return all my books (4 comic books and 4 music scores) I borrowed 2 weeks ago. Well, SJ once told me that library@esplanade is the smallest NLB library, so I decided to walk in and see if that was really true. After walking around the library, I also thought that the library was not really that big, but I wondered if SJ really meant what he said by the smallest library... Thought I have seen an even smaller one somewhere...

After that, I went to Funan Digitalife Mall to look out for some games. Decided to get 2 GameCube games, each costing about $39, one is the game "WarioWare Inc.: Mega Party Game$", the other game is "Tales of Symphonia".

While ony my way to City Hall MRT station, PSQ called me and asked me whether I wanted to watch "The Maid" at 3pm at Lido. Well, since I was already outside, and I was somewhat interested in the movie, I decided to watch the movie with him. Initially he could not find anyone to watch with us, but later WQ agreed to watch the movie with us. Well at first WQ wanted me to watch the movie at GV Plaza at 3.15pm, since I could get the tickets for them first, and I was at Plaza Singapura later on to pay for my violin lessons fee, but then as I found out that there was only the first row left, we decided to go back to Lido again. Well, I told PSQ that if we want to watch the movie at GV Plaza, we had to get the tickets before noon, as a lot of people were watching at that cinema as well.

After that, I had to rush to Lido to get the tickets for the 3 of us. Thought that there might be no space left, but it turned out that there was still quite a number of seats left. We still managed to get the seats at the centre row.

Well, as PSQ only went out of the house at 2+pm (which I think it was ridiculously late for someone who asked us out for the movie), he only reached Lido exactly at about 3pm. WQ only reached the place a bit later as he was being informed quite late and he need a lot of time to travel from his home to Lido.

Eventually, we still managed to catch the movie on time due to the advertisements. Well, I had to say that the movie kind of frightened me a bit due to the sound effects, and the sudden appearance of the ghost, and overall the movie was quite interesting, so maybe you could spare some time to watch this movie?

After that, we then went back home. Decided to buy food back from outside as I did not feel like eating home cooked food... :P

Holi-MiZ 17: Going back home...

12 Aug 2005
Thought of walking around East Coast Park early in the morning, but as it was raining quite heavily, I decided to hold on for a while first after the rain got lighter.

Well, I brought along the umbrella out while walking around the park. Thought that the umbrella might spoil due to the strong wind, so I just quickly walk to McDonald's to take a break first inside there before continuing. Ordered a drink while inside.

After finishing drinking, I then continue to walk around. Well, while walking at the middle of somewhere in the park, I had a stomachache, so I had to walk around to look for toilets. There were some toilets out there at East Coast park, but most of them do not have toilet rolls inside the cubicles. Those pay-toilets were closed, so I had to spent about 45 minutes controlling myself to look for the toilets. Hmm... that's really torturing... Well, didn't went back to the chalet to do so as I was too far away. Eventually, I came back to McDonald's again where they just opened the toilets to the public, and there was toilet papers inside as well, so I decided to went in there.

After that, I continued walking and went to rest at the pavillion that was near to our chalet. Well, the wind was somewhat strong, and it was really nice to stand up and feel the cool strong wind blowing towards you. After that, I decided to went up that rocky thing at the sea (forgot what is it called) and took a short nap there. Only decided to get up and leave when the wind got a bit too strong, and the sea water nearby started splasing on me.

After we packed our things and sign out for the chalet, we then proceed to McDonald's to had our breakfast. We then walk to the bus stop somewhere to take a bus to the city.

Well, I had asked CC before that for a movie "Bewtiched" and CC helped me to ask some people in the platoon to watch with me. After some consideration on the place we would be watching, I decided to watch the movie at Suntec, since it was where we alighted from the bus. Ok, we just walked to the ticketing booth and got the tickets for 5 person (WQ, WB, CC, KQ and me).

Ok, the movie was somewhat interesting, except during the last few parts where the plots seemed a bit odd. Thought that the movie was somewhat ok, just didn't know why 8 Days only rate that movie 1.5 stars.

After that, we then went back home. Didn't had lunch on that day as I did not really had the appetite. Well, I supposed it was because of the stomachache I had earlier on...

Slept quite early on that day, since I did not really sleep very well during the 3 days 2 nights chalet.

Holi-MiZ 16: A Day in East Coast

11 Aug 2005
Stayed overnight in the chalet. Early in the morning, I had to take that 15 minutes walk to McDonald's to look for something to eat. Well, since I did not really had appetite, I just only had my orange juice for breakfast. After that, I went back to the chalet and look at other poeple playing the Xbox. Well, I also played the Xbox when most of the people had left to rest in the bedroom.

At lunch, JH wanted to go to another hawker centre to eat. As I was more in the mood of eating fast food, I decided to go to the place where we had our dinner previously, where there was McDonald's. As someone wanted to eat at Kenny Roger's, and I had not tried the roasted chicken at Kenny Roger's before, some of us then decided to go in and had our lunch there, while others went to the food centre nearby.

After lunch, some of the people wanted to play Pool. As my cash in my wallet was somewhat tight, I decided not to play. I was also feeling kind of tired as well, so I decided to go back to the chalet and rest.

Initially, we planned to have a barbaque for dinner, but as we were too lazy to prepare, we then decided to order pizzas in instead.

After dinner, someone ask me for some bowling game. As my cash was somewhat tight, I decided to just look at them play instead. Hmm... the match was somewhat interesting...

Friday, August 12, 2005

MiZ in Weekdays 25: Happy National Day!

08 Aug 2005
Basically there was nothing much to do on that day, except to do area cleaning. Well, the CSM was supposed to check our area after lunchtime, but as we were only told during lunchtime, our area was not really well-prepared. At least our Signal Warrant managed to help us to escape from the inspection.

Later in the afternoon, we were told that we could book out from camp as there was an early release.I decided to join PSQ and SJ to go to Clarke Quay to look around for dinner. Before that, we need to wait for WH to come, so we decided to wait for him in Lot 1 and eat some things first.

Well, when we reached Clarke Quay, PSQ for no reason took the long way to the place where the restaurants were located. After that, we then had to walk around with him to look at the restaurants before deciding to go to Chinatown to look for something to eat. In the end, PSQ decided to settle down in a food stall that specialise in Frog's meat. Ordered a Frog Porridge for dinner. Well, after all those walking, I was already feeling very tired, so right after dinner I decided to go back to camp to rest for a while before taking over for duty.



09 Aug 2005
Hmm... again basically nothing much to do during the duty. Most of the time I was just lying my head on the table, if not I would be resting on the bed and watching the television at the same time.

As it was National Day, the 3 of us, the DOO, duty clerk and me, all tuned for the National Day Parade show in the evening. The DOO wanted to hear the band playing, but too bad it was placed at the pre-parade segment, which was not aired on the television... Well, as we watched the parade in a Chinese channel, there were quite a lot of parts where I could not really understand, especially when comes to mobile column.

Slept quite early even though I slept a lot before that...



10 Aug 2005
Hand over duty to Desmond at about 8am. As they only applied 2 days off for me, I had to stay back in camp with some other people. By right we should be packing stores from Padang, but as they decided to do so later, we then got to book out earlier as BSO decided to let us off earlier.

Well, thought that I could go home and rest for sometime, but as I did not had my house keys with me, and there was nobody at home to open the door for me, so I had to wait outside the house for more than an hour before my father could came back home and open the door for me.

After that, I went out again and met KQ, WQ, TG, JH and CH at Bedok MRT station to take a shuttle bus to the chalet. JL later met us at the bus stand for the shuttle bus.

After we reached the place, we then went to the chalet and settle down first before proceeding on to our dinner. Well, it was a 15 minutes walk from the chalet to the food centre. As JR wanted me to learn cycling, I eventually cycled from the chalet to the food centre. By the time I reached there, most of the people had ordered their food already, so you can know how slow I was cycling at that time...

After that, we went to the bowling alley and play some bowling games. As I was not good at bowling, I played quite rubbishly at the games, getting a pathetic scores of 50+ and 60+ for each of the 2 games I played...

The Sunny MiZ 24: Yay, no violin lesson!

07 Aug 2005
After booking out from camp, I put all my things back at home as usual before going out for breakfast. We had McDonald's for our breakfast. Hmm... think I had eaten too much fast food already.

Met CC at Junction 8 at noon to catch a movie "Charlie and the chocolate Factory". Didn't really know who I should watch with, so I decided to ask him out. Well, I chose GV Bishan as the advertisement said that there would be a chocolate scent given off during the movie itself. Well, supposedly if I had no duty on the previous day, I could have watch the movie with PSQ and his company. A timing he chose indeed... Before we went for the movie, we had our lunch at Yoshinoya.

After the movie, I decided to ask CC to come to my house to teach me some things for Defence of the Ancient. Well, still quite unclear about how to play the game, so eventually I played quite rubbishly on the battle net. Well, decided to create another battle net account using US West as the region to see my friends. The US East would be used when I played with my cousins.

Prepared my things quite late befoe booking in to camp as the programme was somewhat quite packed for me.

MiZisat 24: Another duty

06 Aug 2005
Well, since there was no NDP rehearsal on that day, I could take over the duty personnal on Saturday morning. Basically nothing much to do in the ops room. Didn't really watch much television as I was feeling somewhat sleepy on that day. Also didn't really played GBA and listen to music... Just spent most of the time lying my head on the table or resting on the bed.

Sunday, August 07, 2005

MiZ in Weekdays 24: At least there's something...

02 Aug 2005
There was an area inspection in the morning, but as most of them had SOC training during that time as well, that only left a few of us in the bunk to clean the areas. Well eventually when CSM reached our bunk, he said that there wasn't much hope. I supposed most of the areas had been failed, since he had decided to give up when he did not enter our bunk at all. After that, someone said that there would be another one in Friday evening right before we booked out. Ok, how evil would that be...

Someone told us that we had to be at the Armour Training Centre (ATC) auditorium for some Ops Bacinet briefing. Well, before that, I tried to start out with my spherical puzzle that I bought some time ago. Some people also helped me out with that, as they thought it was quite interesting.

Ok, during the Ops Bacinet briefing, I tried to keep myslef awake by fidgeting most of the time. Well, you should know that the environment in the auditorium would make people fall asleep very easily, especially during the talk. Haiz... during that time I was wondering when they would end that talk...

After all the Ops Bacinet briefing had ended, which was sometime at the middle in the afternoon, I went back to bunk to rest before going to gym with some of the people.



03 Aug 2005
Well, was really quite shocked when about 65.2% of the people in the bunk went for breakfast at about 5.30am, especially when people like JR and JF managed to wake out very early to go for breakfast. Hmm... don't know if that was something just for a short while, or going to be long term instead...

Anyway, after our breakfast, I continued resting in the bunk. Well, as some people were playing games on behalf of our company for the competition, we then went there to cheer for our teams. Well, the basketball teams were doing well, while the soocer team just did alright...

In the afternoon, I stayed in bunk and rest as I felt quite tired, so I didn't really went to cheer for the match. Well, didn't go for nights off as I was feeling somewhat tired on that day. Slept quite early though.



04 Aug 2005
Well, by right in the morning there should be a soccer and basketball match, but as the weather turned our to be quite bad, with lightning striking everywhere... Well, the basketball games were then postphoned later in the afternoon, so we just rest in the bunk before the basketball match start.

After lunch break, HJ and I went to try out the PA system at the stadium. Well, we faced certain problems as we were not to familiar with the Pa system, so we decided to get the ATC duty signaller to helped us out.

Well, later in the afternoon, we cheered for our guys for the basketball match. Well, it turned out that the opponents were much stronger than our teams, so our teams eventually got creamed out by them. Never mind about that, at least our teams tried their best to do well in the basketball match.



05 Aug 2005
Well, it was games day on that day. Well, there were quite a number of games being played. Before the event started, we had to set up the PA system. Well, we faced certain problems there, so eventually we had to bring our own Pa system and set up there. Well, at least our Signal Warrant was willing to use his vehicle to help to move the PA system.

Well, after all that event had ended, we had to packed our PA system, and SJ and I went to return the keys and the microphone to the ATC people.

After that, we had to do some area cleaning as there would be an area inspection by CSM. Well, the CSM took quite some time to come, think he check the areas quite strictly... Eventually we only get to book out quite late.

Well, as SJ and I wanted to try out the burgers at Carl's Jr at Marina Square, we then decided to go there to had our dinner. Hmm... didn't know that there were still quite a lot of people there, even thought it was quite late. Well, we both ordered the combos. As we finished the burgers, we had not much appetite for the fries, so eventually we decided to give up finishing the fries and left the place.

Monday, August 01, 2005

Holi-MiZ 15: A resting Monday

01 Aug 2005
Woke up a bit late in the morning. As usual, I skipped my breakfast as I did not feel like eating.

Later in the morning, my aunt and my cousin came to my house. Well, as he was about to play Warcraft III battle.net, I then decided to asked him to helped me to sign up for battle net. He agreed to helped me out with the sign up. At the same time, I asked him to used my account to play the game online. Well, he seemed quite good at playing most of the Warcraft maps, including DotA. Too bad my aunt need to go off first, or I could have see how he played DotA.

Well, before they went off, I asked my Aunt if my cousins, Jonathan and Julia, are taking their piano exams this year. Well, she said that Jonathan will not be taking the piano exams as he did not know how to read notes. He would have problems when comes to sight-reading. Well... this is something like the case of SJ, where he did not really know how to read notes. Think they should really start their music theory lessons. Julia will be taking her Grade 1 exams this year.

After that, I went to library@orchard to look for some books to kill time for my ops room duty signal. I decided to borrow 4 comic books chosen at random at the comics section to read them during my duty. After that, I went to Novena Square to had my lunch at Burger King (I went there as there were no Burger King at or near Bishan).

After that, I went back home and continue with some of my games...



MiZ Speaks
Recently just noticed that there are 2 new bus services serving at Bishan Interchange, 57 and 58. 57 travels between Bishan Interchange and Bukit Merah Interchange, while 58 travels between Bishan Interchange and Pasir Ris Interchange. Think I'm going to spend some time to travel on these 2 bus services.

Well, if you don't know (in fact most people don't unless they have stayed in Bishan for many years), there used to be bus services 57 and 58. The old 57 used to travel from Bishan Interchange to Sin Ming Road Bus Terminal (somewhere near Sin Ming Road). It was later change to 410 where it also travel past Bishan North to make a loop. The old 58 used to travel from Bishan Interchange to Toa Payoh Interchange, but as it somewhat duplicates bus service 56 (hmm... actually I'm not really sure about this one), which also passes by Toa Payoh, it was then eventually removed.

The Sunny MiZ 23: A gaming experience

31 Jul 2005
CH took over my duty quite early today, at about 7.25am. After that, I went back home to put down my things before we went to our Aunt's eating place (that is opened quite recently) for breakfast. Well, it was at Namly Place, so it could be quite difficult to get there by public transport. The prices seemed a bit expensive, but I supposed they were getting all the products from those european countries. Well, the serving were not that much for a full $15 breakfast as compared to Cafe Cartel, which is cheaper and also more servings, but the food taste better.

After we had our beakfast, we went back home before I went out for my violin lesson early in the afternoon. Well, the teacher finally remembered to bring the books on violin studies for us. Well... actually I bought the same book some time ago, but I forgot where I had put the book... oh well, never mind about that. Basically, we were always doing the same bow and fingering practice before we started our pieces and scales.

After the lesson, I had my lunch at KFC at Plaza Singapura. While eating, someone called me from behind. Well, it was SJ and his girlfriend. I supposed they were walking around Plaza Singapura. Anyway, didn't really get to talk much as SJ had something to do (well, since he was with his girlfriend, he definitely had something to do).

After lunch, I went to library@esplanade to borrow some music scores. Well, it took me quite some time to look for the scores I wanted, especially when the online catalogue always took quite a long time to load.

At night, I decided to set up my GameCube and continue playing with Pokémon Colosseum. Well, haven't been playing for sometime already, so I forgotten what I was supposed to do in the game...

After that, as I had nothing much to do, I decided to use MSN to chat with some people. Well, as they intended to play DotA some time later, I decided to join them for the first as to promised WB I would be playing with the rest of the people. Well, since that was my first time playing, I was just trying around with the controls. Think I must be a bad player, causing my own team to lose, even the results after the game states so... Hmm... what should I do then?

MiZiSat 23: NDP Preview

30 Jul 2005
Basically nothing much. In the morning, I was watching cartoons. Missed an episode on Pokémon as I fell asleep in front of the signal desk.

In the afternoon, I was reading a comic on Dilberts, which involved certain office humour. Also fell asleep halfway while reading the comic.

At night, I was listening to music. As I felt quite tired after that, I decided to went inside the ops room resting area to sleep (even though I slept most of the time during daytime).

MiZ in Weekdays 23: Another week just passed by...

26 Jul 2005
There was SOC training in the morning, but I was not involved in that. Anyway, as it rained very heavily early in the morning, I went for the breakfast quite late. The SOC was also postphoned to the late afternoon, which caused many people to grumble. Well, if I were to be involved, I would definitely grumble as well. Why would people want to run in the hot afternoon anyway, even if it is about 4 to 5pm?

In the afternoon, SJ and I were told to loan the PA system to AETC for the COCOC parade. Well, basically, we just lent them what were needed for the PA system, and SJ did the receipt voucher. As they did not really know how to set up our PA system, we had to follow them to AETC to teach them how to do so. Hmm... they said that they need 4 speakers, but the parade square is only about half the size of 46 SAR, and whenever there is a parade, we only need to se 2 speakers... I supposed their CO likes to be LOUD... Ok, as we were there, we were figuring out why there was some problems when we tried to used their CD player onto our amplifier. Thought that their CD player had problems, but it turned out that it was one of the port from our amplifier that was giving the problems after some trying out... Well, maybe it needed certain maintenance.

As there were no vehicles to bring us back to 46 SAR, SJ and I had to walk instead. Well, at least we were doing what the Health Promotion Board is trying to promote...



27 Jul 2005
Well, basically nothing much on that day. The whole day I was performing my RPS routine. Hmm... think I must come up with something to counter that.

Well, there was nights off in the evening, but most of the platoon were not going as they need to prepare and rest the the SOC trial the next day. Decided to watch movie "Stealth" with PSQ, SJ and DZ at Jurong Point. WQ, CC and KQ joined us for the movie after they left Stagmont Camp for something. As usual, had that popcorn combo. Just didn't know why I could really have amazing appetite for popcorns...

After the movie, I waited at the food court for some people to had their dinner before we took a cab back to camp.



28 Jul 2005
Well, there was SOC trial in the morning. I was still decided whether I should go to the SOC field to pace them or cheer for them, or just wait for them in the bunk, as I only had one admin shirt which was also needed when I get on the bed to sleep. Decided to pace JR a while later.

Hmm... JR had a disappointing first 700m timing... I was giving that frowning face while he reached the low wall at about 3min50sec. After he cleared all the obstacles, it was already 6min15sec. At least he still put in the best during the last 600m rundown, which give a total timing of 10min flat. Well... hopefully JR could run faster for his first 700m and the obstacles... I'm sure he do not really need to conserve that much energy for the last 600m rundown.

Later in the afternoon, HJ asked me if I wanted to help to reel back lines for Cheetah's signaller. Well, as I was reading the most critical point in 8 days, I decided to go down a while later. Well, while helping out in the line, I was sweayting so much that my shirt almost got very wet... Hey! I needed the shirt to sleep at night. The weather was really hot during that time. Wished there would be some air-con room for us to do stores.

While doing stores, there were also some people going down to train for the basketball match. Hmm... I wondered how would they be able to stand such extreme weathers...



29 Jul 2005
Basically nothing much in the morning. Slept for almost the whole morning as I felt very tired...

In the afternoon right after lunch, HJ, WQ, PSQ and I went for the haircut as their would be an observance parade next Friday. Well, some people said that my hair was still very short, and there was no need to cut my hair. Well, I don't think that is short enough for parade haircut standard...

After I bathe, HJ and I went to the signal office as someone asked us to loan out the PA system to AETC. Well, it took quite sometime for the AETC people to come, so we just had to read newspaper and rest inside the office for quite sometime... Well, at least there were no commanders inside the office. Since, there only the 3 of us, HH, HJ and me, helping out to loan the PA system, we just "anyhow" write out the voucher for them and loan the PA system just like that...

Since I had to take over the ops room duty signal later at night, I could only go off for nights off. As my father had half day off from his work, he could bring me to Jurong Point straight. Since there were some space behind, I decided to let SJ, WB and Daniel to come along with me to Jurong Point to have dinner.

Well, I decided to have dinner at McDonald's as they had the Fish McDippers as the promotion, one of my favourites. Well, while we were having dinner, WB was there talking all sorts of nonsense, in which most of his nonsense were directed to Daniel. After dinner, as WB and Daniel left Jurong Point, SJ and I went to the Jigsaw Puzzle shop to look for the Jigsaw Puzzle. Came across a spherical shaped puzzle, but they are quite costly as they are all imported from Japan. Well, you should know Japanese goods are quite expensive. Still remember the minimum $600 Yamaha student violin and the $13500 Yamaha professional violin I said sometime ago? Well, I decided to get a 240 pieces spherical shaped puzzle, which cost about $50 so that I could kill some time in camp. After that, SJ went back home, while I continue to walk around before my father fetched me back to camp.