MiZiBlog

Created this blog on 23 April 2005, MiZiBlog is just about what's on my life and what's going on around me. Read it if you are interested...

Saturday, January 14, 2006

Range... The First Outfield Experience

Hello, back here blogging again. Ok, last Monday we had our rifle range, something that I don't really like to do. Why? Because range usually ends very late. Moreover, it happened to fall on the eve of public holiday... Sad... Ok, I'll talk about that more.

In-Camp Matters
On Monday, we had our range, as what I said just now. Ok, this range is different from the range we had last time. For this one, we only need to come for 1 day for the range. Unlike what we did for ATP (300m) or CSS ATP (100m), where we were at fixed position standing, proning, squating or kneeling while shooting, for this one, which is the combat shoot we had to keep running nearer to the target from 70m to 20m. Well, sounds quite easy for some of you out there right? Not really the case for some people like me. Because I tend to get nervous quite easily, I actually missed some shots, especially when I reached 20m. Sounds quite funny right? But that's actually what really happened...

Anyway, for combat shoot, the scores (whether you pass with marksman, pass only or fail), it all depends on how well the detail did. So even if you can get full score, but if your detail did very badly, you might not get marksman, or even fail... But if you are only a less-than-average shooter, but your detail managed to get perfect or almost perfect score, you might get marksman depending on the total score of the whole detail. Well, it can be good in some ways, and bad in the other ways. I had one friend who managed to shoot well for the combat shoot (getting almost perfect scores), but because of that one person, the detail didn't get marksman, which means he didn't get marksman... Kind of wasted...

Ok, well I was very lucky to place in a detail that shoots very well. My total score is 17/20 for day shoot and 16/20 for night shoot, which totals up to be 33/40 (82.5%). For our detail of 5 people, we managed to obtain a total score of 95/100 for day shoot and 91/100 for night shoot, which total up to be 186/200 (93.0%). not only we were marksman and can get that $200, we were also the top detail as well. Well, at least that was something that brightened me up after the range.

Basically nothing so special happening on Wednesday, Thursday and Friday. Well, there was swimming meet on Thursday and Friday, so some people need to set up the PA system there. Also there was outfield for 40 SAR next week, so some people need to go to 8 SAB to mount sets as well. Other than that, there's basically nothing else.

Ok, very soon "the train is going to be diverted somewhere". Well, from next week, "the train operator need to go around the new diverted route for familiarisation", so we need not have to worry too much of being forced up to go inside the train from next week onwards.

Hari Raya Haji
Well, I only book out on that day itself because I feel that it was too late for me to go home after the range. Anyway, I was also going to sleep soon, so I decided to go back home the next day. Ok, basically nothing much happening on that day, just feel like another Sunday, just that I did not have my driving lesson and violin class on that day. Hmm... the sian thing is that I have to book in on the same day itself. Well, at least enough for me to rest after the range.

Flute
Well, think I'm getting to like my flute class much more. Just now, before attending the lesson, my flute teacher ask me whether I wanted to go for a faster class. Well, the class is doing Grade 4 Flute, so he ask me whether I would be interested to sign up for Grade 4 Flute instead of Grade 3 Flute. Hmm... doesn't sounds like a bad idea, but the thing is the scales are just too demanding in Grade 4 Flute. Anyway, the Grade 3 Flute scales are already demanding enough, reaching as high as F3. Well, he ask me to consider that first before giving him the answer. Anyway, as I afraid I might not cope with Grade 4 Flute, and I like my current class as well, I decided to sign up Grade 3 Flute instead after my lesson.

Well, most of the people in the class sign up for Grade 2 Flute actually. Only one girl in the class and I sign up for Grade 3 Flute. Well, my friend wanted to do Grade 3 Flute because of her portfolio, in which a Grade 3 Flute certificate would look much nicer than the Grade 2 one (I mean the number 3 looks nicer than the number 2, not the certificate itself). For me, I decided to go faster instead so that I can reach Grade 8 Flute faster... :P

Ok, after the class, I took the train back home, with 2 of my flute friends as well (one to Ang Mo Kio, the other to Yio Chu Kang). Well, as I was living in Bishan, one of my friend said that I should get up on the train using Gate/Door 16. I was wondering why I should do that. She then told me that Gate/Door 16 would lead me to the nearest escalator when I reached Bishan (the train leading to Jurong East). Then she also said that the nearest Gate/Door to the escalator in Ang Mo Kio is Gate/Door 17, while that of Yio Chu Kang is Gate/Door 18. Whoa, thought I'm already particular enough to board which cabin whenever I go back to Bishan (the last 2 cabins for the train going towards Jurong East, and the first 2 cabins for the train going towards Marina Bay), didn't know she's much more particular about which gates/doors to board the train. Hmm... nmaybe one day some people might come up with a guide about "which gates or doors to board the train in order to get you to the nearest escalators or nearest lift" guides.

Conclusion
Think that's all I can say about it. Now I'm going to get poor because of the violin/flute school fees, violin/flute examination fees and also something else which total up about $600. Hmm... my whole of January pay is gone... Kind of hurt when I had to use my reserves... :(

Chinese New Year is coming soon. Well, as Chinese New Year falls a bit too close to Christmas Day, I decided not to write Chinese New Year cards, as I run out of ideas on what to write on the card. Well, if you want to receive Chinese New Year cards from me, you can either send a CNY card to me first by mail (then I'll reply your CNY card), or you can request it on the blog here (through the comments or the tags).

Ok, that's all from today, See you people for the next updates!

Saturday, January 07, 2006

First Blog of the Year...

Finally, me decided to take up some time to write a blog. Ok, a new year has just begun, hope that it will be better than the year 2005. Hmm... hopefully more windfall coming... :P

New Year Day
Nothing so special on that day actually, just that I do not have my violin lesson on that day. Well, actually no Flute and Violin lessons for 2 weeks because of Christmas Day and New Year Day, so I could just spent my time doing my own things, especially sleeping... :P Haha, me is a sleepy guy actually. When theres nothing to do at home, I'll just sleep at home.

Ok, during block leave, I bought a set of Jewel in the Palace (Dae Jang Geum) DVDs to watch at home. Well, after watching that in camp, I suddenly have much interest on the show, so I decided to get one for myself. Well, after just watching for one episode, my sister also show great interest in the show as well, and started watching with me. Well, the show is so nice, the two of us can just spend the whole day watching that show. Ok, think I just wasted my block leave just watching Jewel in the Palace (Dae Jang Geum) and sleeping... ;P

Flute/Violin ABRSM Practical Examinations
Ok, I obtain the registration forms for the practical examinations just now after my flute lesson. Well, think I will be signing up for Grade 2 Violin and Grade 3 Flute. Hmm... didn't expect to be much more expensive than what I expect, with Grade 2 costing $147 and Grade 3 costing $152 to sign up. Think the fee Grade 3 exam is approximately the total fees for the Traffic Police Class 3 practical exams (including rental fee, warm-up fee and so on). Haiz... look like my pocket is going to get a big hole soon... :(

Anyway, I noticed that the keep increasing the price of the exams fee. 5 years ago, (which is 2001, the year I took my Grade 8 Piano exams), the fee for Grade 8 practical exam is just slightly more than $200. Now, the fee for Grade 8 is $307. Think there's a big jump between this 5 years... Haiz... why can't the exam fee gets lower instead? They should also consider people like us, who don't get much allowance... :P

Well, actually think I was not so unlucky. One of my female friend had to do Grade 6 Music Thoery this coming March, and also Grade 8 Piano and Grade 3 Flute between July and September. Well, that's going to cost about $600 for her. Moreover, she had to take her O Levels this year, with Chinese papers at around June. She also had to undergo some music competition around June as well. Think she is going to have a hard time this year... Ok, taking about her, she suggested to me that since we know how to play the Piano, we can be just be each other Piano accompanist for the Flute exams. The idea can be good, especially if our exams are just one after another. Hmm... me haven't been attending Piano lesson for more that 2 years, don't know if I can be a good Piano accompanist for her... Hope that I don't cause her to get lower marks becuase of that... :P (Well, no marks will be given for the Piano accompanist.)

Driving
Ok, this is something that I don't really like to discuss about, seeing how lousy my driving is. Well, have you realise that I don't smile as much while I'm back in camp after block leave. That's because of this, DRIVING. Recently, there's suddenly appear one particular driving instructor that teach me halfway on my syllabus. Well, Whenever I get this instructor, my mood well just turn EXTREMELY BAD. Why? Because this is the only instructor that "fail" my lesson, not because we cannot finish the subject, and also not because I need to do something before I can clear that subject, BUT just because I need to practise more on the subject. Hey! Isn't that what revisions are for? Ok, I may not be doing well for that subject, but that instructor, instead of telling me where I need to correct, just KEPT QUIET throughout the lesson and only tell me those mistakes at the end of the lesson, then he FAILED my lesson. HMMPH!!! What's the meaning of this? Anyway, heard from him that his student will need to take 2 sessions to clear vertical parking, and also 2 sessions to clear parallel parking. What a waste of time and money, when most of the people can just do it in 1 session each. Anyway, because of that, I had failed 2 subjects and to pay for extra 2 session for that. No matter how I tell him, how little my allowance is that I can only book a certain amount of sessions, he just wouldn't listen. What a stubborn instructor! Also, his teaching attitute and personal attutite are both equally poor. Whenever I get him, I can get near-miss accident... (Luckily there's no accident yet, or I've to write and accident report.)

Anyway, after my driving lessons today, I decided to speak to the chief instructor and tell him that I DO NOT WANT that particular instructor to teach me. Well, he said ok, and ask me to tell him the reasons as well.
Reasons:
1. He had POOR teaching attitute.
2. He is wasting my money because I need to go for extra sessions to clear that particular subject.
3. I HATE his teaching methods.
4. I DON'T LIKE his attitute towards me.
5. He just don't understand me at all after that many sessions (unlike other instructors, who can understand me before finishing just 1 session only).
6. He is stubborn and don't care about other people's opinion.
Well, after all I said to the chief instructor, he thinks that most of the reason I gave him are quite personal, so he put "Just Void" for the reasons. He also promised me that after that, I won't get him anymore next time when I come for my driving lessons. Haha... feel so much happier after that. Think you can try that if you have certain instructor you don't like in school and you don't want him/her to teach you. :P

Treble (Alto) Recorder
After hearing what SJ said about Recorders, and after listening to some Recorder music, I decided to get myself a German Treble (Alto) Recorder for $17. Well, it's atually bigger than the Descent (Soprano) Recorder, the one that we used to play in primary school, and has a lower pitched as well. As the Treble Recorder is pitch in F (even though it is non-transposing), I'm just not used to the fingering. Imagine when you play a C note on a Descent Recorder, with the same fingering, you get an F note on the Treble Recorder, so a D note on a Descent Recorder will get you a G note on a Treble Recorder for same fingering, E note (Descent Recorder) -> A note (Treble Recorder), F note (Descent Recorder) -> B flat note (Treble Recorder) and so on.

After trying out Treble Recorder, I find that the Flute is much easier to play, because the fingerings for Recorder are more complex than that of the Flute, especially for higher notes. Well, I'll bring both the Flute and the Treble Recorder to camp for those people who want to try out next Tuesday night.

Conclusions
Ok, think that's all about it for this blog. Think I'll be signing up for my FLute/Violin exams tomorrow (Sunday) after my violin lesson or next week, after any of my lesson. Also feeling much happier now after "voiding" that particular instructor. See more on my smiles after Tuesday (after I'm done with my range).

The next blog updates... as usual not really sure when is it. Well, I'll write the blog when I have time and have something to write.

Ok, that's all about it. See ya!

Thursday, December 29, 2005

Block Leave Period (Part 2)

Ok, here I go again, blogging.

Christmas
Nothing much happening during Christmas, since our family usually don't celebrate them. Well, too bad there's no exchanging of presents within our family and relatives (I only done that in camp, when we were instructed to do so), so no surprise for me...

Well, about the exchanging presents in camp, for those who want to know what I bought, it's actually a Forever Friends photo album bought from Hallmark store at Novena Square. The present cost me around $10.50 ($9.50 for the photo album and $1.00 for the wrapping paper). It's really worth taking that present actually in my opinion (based on what other people give), but too bad the present was not pick up by anyone from our platoon... Anyway, I pick up a mug with a Tasmanian Devil cartoon on it. The mug cost $4.50 when I check out the price. Anyway, since it looks kind of cute to me, I decided not to take the price into my heart. Well, at least I didn't pick up some kind of junks from there, like the grass mat from PSQ, or a lipton tea cup set, which I supposed it came free when you purchase lipton teabags. Hmm... come to think of it, I should have bought some music scores, or some academic textbook/workbook/assessment book which cost around $10, to give the person who pick it up a great "surprise"... =P

Christmas Cards
Recently, I decided to give my platoon and my friend, Kavan, Christmas cards each. Well, I feel that I get to know you people from my platoon much better, so I decided to give you'll Christmas cards. Hope you will keep them as part of friendship and memories. =)

Ok, so far I received 7 christmas cards and 1 christmas e-card from my friends. Out of all the 7 christmas cards, 4 of them were sent through post, the other 3 were sent by hand. Well, at least there's improvement, since I recevied none for the past few years. For those that sent christmas cards and e-cards to me, I would like to say a big Thank You!!!

Movies
Ok, I've just watch The Family Stone with my sister just now. Well, the movie was quite nice and funny. For those that have nothing to do at home, you can catch this movie if you want to. Ok, the next movie I'm going to watch is Wallace and Gromit: The Curse of the Wererabbit. Not really sure when I'm going to catch the movie, maybe before the start of New Year, or after I go back to camp, not really sure when though...

MapleStory
Haven't seen me in MapleStory for some time? Well, I decided to put aside MapleStory for a short period of time, so that I could do other things during the block leave (like driving, playing The Sims 2, watching movie, practising my instruments etc). So, when while I be back ,playing MapleStory? Perhaps next year... Never mind, I'll still log in ocasionally to see how things are going on.

The Sims 2
Well, I decided to get back playing The Sims 2 after being put aside for a long period of time. Anyway, as now I'm rushing to let my sims grow up, I decided to use some cheats on it. =P Well, that's the only way I could think of... Just for those who want to know, I created my family and me inside the game. Well, it kind of simulates the more powerful version of myself (being more intelligent, more fit, more skillful and better attitute than my actual normal self) inside the game (other people as well), just only for fun, so that I can see how is it going... =P Well, since I got Nightlife expansion pack a few months ago, so I should start playing and see how it is like after installing the expansion pack, right?

New Year to 2006
Well, 2006 is coming in a few days time, do you have any resolutions yet? Well, for me... haha... currently don't have yet. Maybe I think through what I've done during the year 2005. Hopefully I could excel in my studies when I get into the university... =P

Well, think that's all for now. Next updates will be... still not realy sure actually... Well, need to think of something to type before posting a blog entries... Anyway, I'll inform you people when I next update my blog.

Anyway, wishing you'll a Happy New Year!!!

Tuesday, December 27, 2005

Back to Blogging: Block Leave period and before that

Ok, haven't been posting blog for already quite sometime as I was quite busy recently. After someone mentioned about updating my blog, I decided to spent some time on my block leave to tell you what happen then.

In-Camp Matters
Currently we were having low-key. Well, even though there was no outfield, we still had quite a lot of fatigue work to do. That's what low-key is all about. We had to help out to prepare for certain inspections during that period. Quite a lot of things to do, especially when "the train operator force us to get up the train, even though we wanted to stay put, or wanted to reach other destination instead". Well, I supposed the train operator wanted to show others that he's working (even though he's actually not most of the time), and the way he operated the train was really quite unstable. Kind of scary to board on that train...

Well, since there wasn't any outfield, there was no need for a duty signaller to be inside the ops room. Ok, at least no signal duty for us, BUT as there was shortages of sergeants, we had to do company orderly sergeant (COS) duty instead. This one can be quite stressful or lax, depending on how you see it, depending of the mood of certain people and also depending on the day of duty.

There's also another Ops B duty as well, but at another location. WQ, WB, Stanley and I were ask to do that. anyway, it was a short 10 days duty, in which there was 2 public holidays during the 10 days. Kind of sad that I could not join PSQ games and WF birthday party, which was held at the time I was having my duty.

There was also COCOC parade, which was held right after our Ops B ended. Anyway, as I was involved in Ops B, I did not have to march in the parade. Didn't really have to do the PA system as well.

Basically nothing much, just only had admin or fartigue work to do in camp.

Driving
Well, for those who didn't know, I started learning driving for more than 1 months already. How is my progress, someone might asked. The only thing I have to say is that I'm really very slow when learning driving. Think I wasn't that kind of people that is prepared to be on the road. Still another half of the whole syllabus more. Wonder when I could finish the syllabus at least (not to even talk about when I could pass my driving...:P)

How much have I covered, someone might ask. Well, I can tell you that I am soooooooooo slow, to the extend that I do not want to comment about this... The most I can tell you is that I've pass my BTT and FTT.

Classical Violin Course
Recently our class had started to slow down, maybe because of our lack of practise at home. Well, anyway, we can't really finish Suzuki Violin Course volume 1 by the end of 2005, even though the teacher aim to complete them before that. Maybe the pieces are getting more difficult that it is quite difficult to just sight-read and play them straight away. Well, think we could only start volume 2 earliest by mid-January to early February.

Hmm... recently I find that my violin isn't producing a nice tone, no matter how I played them. I supposed the violin that I had was just a China-made lousy student violin, costing around $170. Think my ears sensitivity on violin tone has increased after having 8 months of violin lessons. Think it's time for me to change a new one. Well, I was eyeing on the $1500 intermediate Yamaha Violin, which I think it looked nice. But I think the cost is a bit too high for an intermediate violin, so maybe I might consider getting Synwin violin, which is generally cheaper than the Yamaha ones. Never mind, me only intending to get them ealiest on June 2006, so there's some time for me to consider.

Yamaha Flute Course
Well, if you didn't know, I was being transferred to a faster class, as my teacher said that I hhad already learn how to read notes, so I should go faster. So, my music lesson schedules are as follow currently:
Flute: Sat 4.00pm to 5.00pm
Violin: Sun 1.00pm to 2.00pm

By right, according to the brochure, I should complete Flute 1 in 12 months. Well, after transferred to another class, I managed to conmplete it in 3 months, currently doing Flute 2. Think I might have skipped quite a lot of things in Flute 1 textbook and the supplementary flute pieces as well. Not only that, my Flute fees had increased from $68.25 to $84.00 after completing Flute 1. Really quite hurting to my pocket... :(

ABRSM Examinations
Think the registration for ABRSM examinations will start around January 2006. Well, I'm going to register for both Violin exam and Flute exam. For violin, think I could only take Grade 2 violin, since there are still a lot of things to I haven't learn and pick-up that is or might be required for a Grade 3 violin student, and also based on the standards we are now as well. I can skipped Grade 1, since we are about to start pieces of Grade 2 standard very soon.

For Flute, the teacher recommend us to take Grade 2 Flute as well. Also not much point taking Grade 1, since we are approaching Grade 2 standard. Thought of taking Grade 2 Flute, but there's a girl in the class that said that she want to sign up for Grade 3 Flute, so that her portfolio for music looks nicer. Heard from her that the portfolio is to be shown when she wanted to sign up for Music Elective Programme, so that's why she wanted to take Grade 3 Flute. Well, she also asked me to take Grade 3 Flute with her, so that she would not be alone, and the teacher said that based on my standard, I can sign up for Grade 3 Flute. Hmm... after certain consideration, I think I may sign up for Grade 3 Flute instead of Grade 2, so that I could go faster (and also Grade 3 Flute exam pieces sound a lot nicer than Grade 2 Flute exam pieces).

Block Leave
Well, we had to clear our leave at the end of the year. Some people used that period of time to go overseas, while others take this time to go out with their friends and so on. Well, for me, I decided to do some driving, play computer games that I have not been doing during the past weekends, catch some movies and also to rest at home. Haha... think I must have spent too much time sleeping that I don't really feel like getting off the bed. Anyway, just for those who want to know, I'm planning to watch The Family Stone and Wallace and Gromit: The Curse of the Wererabbit. When is it, still not really sure yet.

Ok, think that's all for my blog. When will I post the next entries, I'm not really sure actually... :P

Sunday, September 18, 2005

MapleStory Screenshots

Ok, here are some of the screenshots I had taken just now. I'm playing a Level 31 Fire/Poison Wizard here. Haven't learn all the skills yet though.


Attack: The most basic skills that you will have before you start the game. It's just attacking the monsters with any weapons in your hands.


Energy Bolt: Creates a bolt of energy using your Mana Points (MP) to attack a monster.


Magic Claw: Also uses your MP to attack a monster, but 2 times instead.


Magic Guard: This skill temporarily replaces damage with MP instead of Health Points (HP). Useful for all magicians since they have low HP.


Teleport: Teleport you to other places in the same map on a set of distance by using the arrow/directional keys.


Fire Arrow: Create a fire arrow and fires at a monster using your MP.

MiZiBlog (Revised)

Ok, haven't been writing my blogs for quite sometime. Well, I was just too lazy to write actually... The Ops Bacinet tired me out, so I didn't really have much mood to write. Anyway, here I am, back to this blog. I decided to revised my blog, now I'm not going to write my everyday entries, instead, I will just sum up what happened during the past few days instead in different sections. Well, for this case, I do not have to recall what I had done exactly on that day itself.

Well, there were definitely a lot of things to write about between the date I last wrote my entres till now. Firstly, I'm going to cover about Ops Bacinet I've been through.

Classical Violin Course
Haven't being attending for 2 lessons already because of Ops Bacinet. Well, at least they still had not done much while I was away. They just only try out the scales using the way the scale book tell us to play. They also just learn one more piece from the Suzuki Violin book, and continue the same one for the Studies. Well, they also started Grade 1 theory, but that was not much of my concerned, since I had my Grade 6 a few months ago. Basically very little for me to catch up when I went back to class just now...

Yamaha Flute Course
Well, the course actually started on 11 Sep 2005, but as I had my Ops Bacinet during that day, I was unable to attend that lesson. Well, never mind, at least they only thaught a bit for the first lesson. Well, basically, when I attend the class just now (just in case you don't know, my flute lesson was just right after my violin lesson). Basically the teacher taught us the fingerings on some of the notes, the correct way of holding the flute, and also the blowing method as well. The sound still didn't really come out well when I played the flute just now, think I should practise more... Anyway, the teacher also ask me to consider transfering the class to Friday 7pm, or Saturday 4pm, as I had musical background, in which I could go at a faster pace. Well, I definitely could not make it for the Friday 7pm class, since travelling from Sungei Gedong camp to Plaza Singapura takes a very long time. Well, I'm not really sure about the Saturday 4pm class, as I wanted to have one day of my weekend free...

MapleStory
During the period we had Ops Bacinet, while I was off-duty, I spent most of my time playing MapleStory. Think I must had been influenced by LWB. Now my magician had got a 2nd job, which is a Fire/Poison Wizard. Took a very long time to decide on the 2nd job I wanted. Well, think my characters had overpowered WB's one by a bit... Anyway, just for your information, I had a Lv 31 Wizard, Lv 16 Rogue and Lv 13 Swordman up to date in Bootes.

Some people said MapleStory is boring after playing for a short while. Well, what I can said is that there was actually nothing much when you just started. What can you do when you are just a beginner? There was no skills for you to learn anyway... Well, it's only when you get your 1st job advancement, which is Lv 8 for Magician, and Lv 10 for Warrior, Bowman and Thief, where you start to get some fun. The more interesting parts come when you get your 2nd job advancement, where you learn even more special skills. So, if you one to have fun with MapleStory, you should get yourself to Lv 15 to 20 first, or at least Lv 21 where you could party with 3 other people to do party quest (it's really fun to to party quest actually).

Well, think I should come up with a screenshot for my Wizard to show you some skills acquired by the character itself.

Bishan MRT Interchange: Between NorthSouth Line (NSL) and Circle Line (CCL)
While on my way home from music lesson just now, I came across a plan for Bishan MRT interchange between NSL and CCL at Bishan Station. Well, after looking at the plan, I noticed that they are going to seperate the NSL platform between the North bound train the South bound train. Don't know why they can try to make it together... Think it will cause certain inconvenience, especially when we got to the wrong platform...

Ok, basically that's all I have to say now. Considering MapleStory?

Sunday, August 14, 2005

The Sunny MiZ 25: Sign up for another course

14 Aug 2005
In the morning, we went out to had our breakfast. My father and my grandparents went to the hawker centre to had their breakfast, while my sister and I went to McDonald's to had them. Yup, I know it's again for me... in fact it's again for both of us since we had our breakfast at McDonald's a week ago... Think it was a McDonald's week...

After that, I went to have my haircut at EC House at Junction 8 as my hair was getting a bit too long and messy. Ok, now I had to say that my hair really got very short...

As my father had to go to work today, I had to go for my violin lesson myself today. While I was walking towards Yamaha Music School, I decided to take a look at Contempo Music School to see if they had any flute courses coming up. Well, they happened to had a flute course from 2 to 3pm on Sunday. Hmm... that was just right after my violin lesson (which is 1 to 2pm on Sunday as well). So, I decided to go and sign up right after my violin lesson had ended.

Well, since I was already a student in Yamaha Music School, I did not have to pay for the $21 registration fee and $100 for the deposit. Well, the person said that the lesson will be held at Studio 107, which happened to be the Studio I had my violin lesson. How interesting could that be... Had to buy a Flute book for the course itself, which cost about $29.

After that, I had my lunch at KFC before going back to Junction 8 to buy a D-string for my violin as mine had snapped sometime ago. After that, I went back home to sleep again, and also prepare my things before booking in... Think I'm going to become a sleeping pig someday... :P



MiZ Speaks
Just asking, anyone want to take up flute with me? Well, for those new student, other then that months fee of $68.25, you had to pay a registration of $21 and a deposit of $100. It's every Sunday from 2 to 3pm, so considering signing up with me? Currently there were 7 slots left after I sign up, just for the information.

MiZiSat 25: Going out again...

13 Aug 2005
Woke up quite late in the morning. Just could not believe myself that I could sleep for 12 hours straight. Think I must be way too exhausted after the chalet. Skipped breakfast again since I didn't really have appetite.

Later at noon, I went out to library@esplanade to return all my books (4 comic books and 4 music scores) I borrowed 2 weeks ago. Well, SJ once told me that library@esplanade is the smallest NLB library, so I decided to walk in and see if that was really true. After walking around the library, I also thought that the library was not really that big, but I wondered if SJ really meant what he said by the smallest library... Thought I have seen an even smaller one somewhere...

After that, I went to Funan Digitalife Mall to look out for some games. Decided to get 2 GameCube games, each costing about $39, one is the game "WarioWare Inc.: Mega Party Game$", the other game is "Tales of Symphonia".

While ony my way to City Hall MRT station, PSQ called me and asked me whether I wanted to watch "The Maid" at 3pm at Lido. Well, since I was already outside, and I was somewhat interested in the movie, I decided to watch the movie with him. Initially he could not find anyone to watch with us, but later WQ agreed to watch the movie with us. Well at first WQ wanted me to watch the movie at GV Plaza at 3.15pm, since I could get the tickets for them first, and I was at Plaza Singapura later on to pay for my violin lessons fee, but then as I found out that there was only the first row left, we decided to go back to Lido again. Well, I told PSQ that if we want to watch the movie at GV Plaza, we had to get the tickets before noon, as a lot of people were watching at that cinema as well.

After that, I had to rush to Lido to get the tickets for the 3 of us. Thought that there might be no space left, but it turned out that there was still quite a number of seats left. We still managed to get the seats at the centre row.

Well, as PSQ only went out of the house at 2+pm (which I think it was ridiculously late for someone who asked us out for the movie), he only reached Lido exactly at about 3pm. WQ only reached the place a bit later as he was being informed quite late and he need a lot of time to travel from his home to Lido.

Eventually, we still managed to catch the movie on time due to the advertisements. Well, I had to say that the movie kind of frightened me a bit due to the sound effects, and the sudden appearance of the ghost, and overall the movie was quite interesting, so maybe you could spare some time to watch this movie?

After that, we then went back home. Decided to buy food back from outside as I did not feel like eating home cooked food... :P

Holi-MiZ 17: Going back home...

12 Aug 2005
Thought of walking around East Coast Park early in the morning, but as it was raining quite heavily, I decided to hold on for a while first after the rain got lighter.

Well, I brought along the umbrella out while walking around the park. Thought that the umbrella might spoil due to the strong wind, so I just quickly walk to McDonald's to take a break first inside there before continuing. Ordered a drink while inside.

After finishing drinking, I then continue to walk around. Well, while walking at the middle of somewhere in the park, I had a stomachache, so I had to walk around to look for toilets. There were some toilets out there at East Coast park, but most of them do not have toilet rolls inside the cubicles. Those pay-toilets were closed, so I had to spent about 45 minutes controlling myself to look for the toilets. Hmm... that's really torturing... Well, didn't went back to the chalet to do so as I was too far away. Eventually, I came back to McDonald's again where they just opened the toilets to the public, and there was toilet papers inside as well, so I decided to went in there.

After that, I continued walking and went to rest at the pavillion that was near to our chalet. Well, the wind was somewhat strong, and it was really nice to stand up and feel the cool strong wind blowing towards you. After that, I decided to went up that rocky thing at the sea (forgot what is it called) and took a short nap there. Only decided to get up and leave when the wind got a bit too strong, and the sea water nearby started splasing on me.

After we packed our things and sign out for the chalet, we then proceed to McDonald's to had our breakfast. We then walk to the bus stop somewhere to take a bus to the city.

Well, I had asked CC before that for a movie "Bewtiched" and CC helped me to ask some people in the platoon to watch with me. After some consideration on the place we would be watching, I decided to watch the movie at Suntec, since it was where we alighted from the bus. Ok, we just walked to the ticketing booth and got the tickets for 5 person (WQ, WB, CC, KQ and me).

Ok, the movie was somewhat interesting, except during the last few parts where the plots seemed a bit odd. Thought that the movie was somewhat ok, just didn't know why 8 Days only rate that movie 1.5 stars.

After that, we then went back home. Didn't had lunch on that day as I did not really had the appetite. Well, I supposed it was because of the stomachache I had earlier on...

Slept quite early on that day, since I did not really sleep very well during the 3 days 2 nights chalet.

Holi-MiZ 16: A Day in East Coast

11 Aug 2005
Stayed overnight in the chalet. Early in the morning, I had to take that 15 minutes walk to McDonald's to look for something to eat. Well, since I did not really had appetite, I just only had my orange juice for breakfast. After that, I went back to the chalet and look at other poeple playing the Xbox. Well, I also played the Xbox when most of the people had left to rest in the bedroom.

At lunch, JH wanted to go to another hawker centre to eat. As I was more in the mood of eating fast food, I decided to go to the place where we had our dinner previously, where there was McDonald's. As someone wanted to eat at Kenny Roger's, and I had not tried the roasted chicken at Kenny Roger's before, some of us then decided to go in and had our lunch there, while others went to the food centre nearby.

After lunch, some of the people wanted to play Pool. As my cash in my wallet was somewhat tight, I decided not to play. I was also feeling kind of tired as well, so I decided to go back to the chalet and rest.

Initially, we planned to have a barbaque for dinner, but as we were too lazy to prepare, we then decided to order pizzas in instead.

After dinner, someone ask me for some bowling game. As my cash was somewhat tight, I decided to just look at them play instead. Hmm... the match was somewhat interesting...

Friday, August 12, 2005

MiZ in Weekdays 25: Happy National Day!

08 Aug 2005
Basically there was nothing much to do on that day, except to do area cleaning. Well, the CSM was supposed to check our area after lunchtime, but as we were only told during lunchtime, our area was not really well-prepared. At least our Signal Warrant managed to help us to escape from the inspection.

Later in the afternoon, we were told that we could book out from camp as there was an early release.I decided to join PSQ and SJ to go to Clarke Quay to look around for dinner. Before that, we need to wait for WH to come, so we decided to wait for him in Lot 1 and eat some things first.

Well, when we reached Clarke Quay, PSQ for no reason took the long way to the place where the restaurants were located. After that, we then had to walk around with him to look at the restaurants before deciding to go to Chinatown to look for something to eat. In the end, PSQ decided to settle down in a food stall that specialise in Frog's meat. Ordered a Frog Porridge for dinner. Well, after all those walking, I was already feeling very tired, so right after dinner I decided to go back to camp to rest for a while before taking over for duty.



09 Aug 2005
Hmm... again basically nothing much to do during the duty. Most of the time I was just lying my head on the table, if not I would be resting on the bed and watching the television at the same time.

As it was National Day, the 3 of us, the DOO, duty clerk and me, all tuned for the National Day Parade show in the evening. The DOO wanted to hear the band playing, but too bad it was placed at the pre-parade segment, which was not aired on the television... Well, as we watched the parade in a Chinese channel, there were quite a lot of parts where I could not really understand, especially when comes to mobile column.

Slept quite early even though I slept a lot before that...



10 Aug 2005
Hand over duty to Desmond at about 8am. As they only applied 2 days off for me, I had to stay back in camp with some other people. By right we should be packing stores from Padang, but as they decided to do so later, we then got to book out earlier as BSO decided to let us off earlier.

Well, thought that I could go home and rest for sometime, but as I did not had my house keys with me, and there was nobody at home to open the door for me, so I had to wait outside the house for more than an hour before my father could came back home and open the door for me.

After that, I went out again and met KQ, WQ, TG, JH and CH at Bedok MRT station to take a shuttle bus to the chalet. JL later met us at the bus stand for the shuttle bus.

After we reached the place, we then went to the chalet and settle down first before proceeding on to our dinner. Well, it was a 15 minutes walk from the chalet to the food centre. As JR wanted me to learn cycling, I eventually cycled from the chalet to the food centre. By the time I reached there, most of the people had ordered their food already, so you can know how slow I was cycling at that time...

After that, we went to the bowling alley and play some bowling games. As I was not good at bowling, I played quite rubbishly at the games, getting a pathetic scores of 50+ and 60+ for each of the 2 games I played...

The Sunny MiZ 24: Yay, no violin lesson!

07 Aug 2005
After booking out from camp, I put all my things back at home as usual before going out for breakfast. We had McDonald's for our breakfast. Hmm... think I had eaten too much fast food already.

Met CC at Junction 8 at noon to catch a movie "Charlie and the chocolate Factory". Didn't really know who I should watch with, so I decided to ask him out. Well, I chose GV Bishan as the advertisement said that there would be a chocolate scent given off during the movie itself. Well, supposedly if I had no duty on the previous day, I could have watch the movie with PSQ and his company. A timing he chose indeed... Before we went for the movie, we had our lunch at Yoshinoya.

After the movie, I decided to ask CC to come to my house to teach me some things for Defence of the Ancient. Well, still quite unclear about how to play the game, so eventually I played quite rubbishly on the battle net. Well, decided to create another battle net account using US West as the region to see my friends. The US East would be used when I played with my cousins.

Prepared my things quite late befoe booking in to camp as the programme was somewhat quite packed for me.

MiZisat 24: Another duty

06 Aug 2005
Well, since there was no NDP rehearsal on that day, I could take over the duty personnal on Saturday morning. Basically nothing much to do in the ops room. Didn't really watch much television as I was feeling somewhat sleepy on that day. Also didn't really played GBA and listen to music... Just spent most of the time lying my head on the table or resting on the bed.