09 May 2005
We had our company run in the morning. Well, it's just only 3km as we need to conserve our energy for ATEC. Later that day, we continued reeling back the rest of the lines and did some of the stores.
10 May 2005
Nothing much early in the morning. Later that day, we were asked to go to Keat Hong Camp to return some stores. Initially, HJ and I agreed with that, and SJ wanted to stay in camp. But as they lack manpower, SJ had no choice but to go with us instead.
Well, there were 8 of us going to Keat Hong Camp, which were HJ, SJ, WH, PSQ, Benjamin, Daniel, Stanley and me. After we reached there, we had our packed lunch there from our cookhouse. Hmm... the food was just so-so. Actually I felt that there was no need to pack lunch for us, since the cookhouse food was not really that good afterall. In fact most of the people don't really like the food there, so what's the point for indenting meals for us? After our lunch, we waited for the storeman to come at 403 SAR store. While waiting, I listened to my CD walkman I had brought there.
After the storeman came, we were asked to go to 417 SAR store to return the stores and helped them to put the checked stores on the floor near the shelves.
After finishing the stores, we loaded the tonner JUST to go to 403 store (which is of walking distance) to be told to draw radio stores from there. There needed 5 people there, so HJ, SJ, Daniel, Benjamin and me got down the tonner and check the radio stores before drawing those out. The rest went to check CVC helmets and also had their canteen break as well, which we didn't get to have. While checking stores, HJ received a call from WQ, saying that there would be nights off. As some people were eager to go for nights off, they quickly check the stores and decided to skip some of the stores. Well, we could afford to skip some stores as those stores were just being serviced and also some of the were very new. We only managed to finish them around 5.30pm.
After reaching camp at around 6+, we unloaded the stores to the QM signal storeroom. Quite surprised to see our platoon waiting for us and helped to unload the stores for us. Thought that they would go for nights off first. The QM department also helped us to pack dinner as well, which I didn't see the point of doing so since the dinner was terrible. In fact, the dinner they cooked are always terrible, so it would be better for us to let us go to "The Link" to had our meals there. Anyway, I still ate a bit before going for my most likely last nights off. Might not be going nights off in the future as I wanted to do some personal admin stuff in my bunk, like listening to music and playing GBA games, unless there is really a need for me to go.
Well, I went to Jurong Point with HJ and SJ and had a light dinner at McDonald's. After that, we went to NTUC Fairprice and bought some canned drinks there. After that, we went back to camp by a private bus which was happened to be there (near the taxi stand). Well, actually someone had already called the bus beforehand, but since there were some more spaces for us, we decided to hop on.
11 May 2005
No company run in the morning. Nothing much early in the morning.
Later in the morning, we were told to help the MT line to set up the tonner. Hmm... wondered who called us to do that. Ok, actually it was quite fun to set up the tonner, but the weather made us feel quite tired. Putting the poles and the seat supports were somewhat ok, but putting the benches were the worst. The screw would get stuck easily, and we had to helped to support the heavy bench while the screw were being put inside, and it was very difficult to do that.
In the afternoon, we had briefing by our BSO about the PRC 640, the revised SOI and also something a bit about the coming ATEC as well. After that, I went back to bunk to wait for the CO evening.
After our dinner, we went to I-net before going to the hall. Later while in the hall, we waited there for the show to start, and at the same time, we were given some drinks and snacks there. Well, the show performed by the SAF Music and Dram company was somewhat ok. Didn't really the music performed by the band though. There was some dance, singing and skit. During the games section, PSQ and JR was being called up to the stage. Well, they were supposed to follow the so-called "Kungfu master" on what he had done. PSQ was the 6th person to perform and heis action made most of the audience laughing out loud. Well, I laughed out so much during PSQ performance that my tears started to flow out from my eyes and I almost got a stomach cramps. Well, if you don't know, I may cry (not a sad cry) if I laugh too much and too hard. After that, JR perform the slow "Kungfu" on stage, which almost looked like "qigong" to me.
After the CO evening, we went back to bunk and rest.
12 May 2005
After breakfast, we had to draw arms to zero our rifle TES set. We started soing so from about 9am onwards. Well, some people seemed unsuccessful with the zeroing. I made my zeroing quite successful there.
Later in the afternoon, we had to set up a simulated PA system on a row of tonner at the parade square simulating NDP as S2 wanted to see how it would be done. Well, as they were not really ready, HJ, SJ and I decided to wait in the I-net (with PSQ and BSO doing some multimedia stuff inside) until they were ready.
After setting up the PA system, we were told to load the line tonner. As usual, the "bus" again "horned" at me for not arranging the stores properly in the tonner, in which I really did not know how it was to be arranged. Well, used to that already... It's ok about that since I don't really like taking that "bus service". After putting the line stores in the tonner, we went for canteen break. After that, we went to tear down the PA system and then helped the others to load the additional radio stores into the line tonner. Had dinner quite late then.
13 May 2005 (Friday the Thirteen...)
Nothing much happening. HJ and I helped to select the combat rations and some rations from the accessories pack for the line tonner. After that, we had canteen break. Well, the CO have the battalion an early release today, so we got to book out in early afternoon. Well, we were told that lunch was indented, so we had to eat our lunch there. Didn't really eat much though, since the lunch didn't look too appetising.
Only booked out after 12.30pm as the armskote was cleared quite late. After booking out, we went to take a private bus to Choa Chu Kang MRT station. After some went to Lot1 to eat, some went to Jurong East to look for things. HJ, WB, PSQ, Desmond and I went to Plaza Singapura to had our more proper lunch and walk around there as well. After lunch, PSQ wanted to watched "House of Wax" showing at 3.50pm, so WB, Desmond and I decided to join him for the movie. Each ticket cost about $8 on Friday before 5pm. After buying the tickets, SJ came. WB, HJ, SJ and I went to Carrefour to look for foods and drinks, while Desmond and PSQ went to look for something else somewhere.
Met the other 4 people watching the movie at about 3.50pm. Well, the movie was somewhat quite scary and frightening, though I still hear someone laughing during some parts of the movie, which I did not know what is so funny about someone being killed or what. Overall, the movie was quite interesting.
After the movie, we went back home.
MiZ Speaks
Well, while on MSN, my friend Kavan chatted with me. Well, he said that he didn't really make it for IPPT. Actually he could have made it, but because the 3 stripes in charge of one of the static station didn't really record his 1st results, which was actually better than the 2nd one (in fact the 1st one was a pass, while the 2nd one was a fail) when he decided to have a 2nd try. In the end, he had to book in on Saturday for RT. He also told me that when most of the people from other platoon in his company had got promoted to CPL (or LCP), only a handful of people from his platoon got promoted. Heard from him that promotion is based on attitute, fitness and so on... He also said that there was a slacker who got promoted faster than him, because he had a good fitness. Well, I think promotion should not be based on fitness itself (even though fitness is quite important). Well, Kavan is a hardworking and diligent person as what I know. Even though his fitness is not up to their standard yet, I feel that they should recognise his effort he had put in.
Well, I'm still deciding on which console to get. Should I get Sony Playstation 2, Microsoft Xbox or Nintendo Gamecube? Well, heard that PS2 is the better choice as it offer a lot of games from a wide variety. Xbox offers great graphic and sound system, but there are quite few playable games for me. For GC, although there are few games on the market, and the special disc used make the console unable to play DVDs, there are a lot of playable games for me compared to other consoles. Moreover, I can use the gameboy player to play my GBA games on TV. So, feel free to post your comments either directly on this blog entry, or on my tagboard about which console I should get.